Forged with a mercurial temper

List carefully, and beware, my blade
is forged with a mercurial temper
Hither have I flown on quick silver wings
with the sun blazing righteous behind me

I speak with the voice of man – of mankind –
with the authority of the father
Let not my angelic garb distract you
from the import of the message I bear

List carefully, to words absolute:
“I am wisdom and knowledge, defer to me
All judgement: honour is mine to bestow
and take at will – and take it I will!”

Dry your eyes, the relegated goddess
is banished to the forgotten caverns
Her unceasing weeping leaves the earth soft
poisoned and bitter, fertile with regret

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forged with a mercurial temper

  1. how do you get away with using old styles and words? whenever I try this, it just flops… this works – really works!

  2. Frank says:

    Well, there are two possible answers to this. It could be that I myself am something old style… 🙂

    But seriously, I think it’s just about writing in-character. Most of my poetry is written the way I write fiction, by creating characters and writing stories in verse form.

    Where I generally struggle, therefore, is in writing more personal stuff.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

