petals soft as flame

petals soft as flame
my cheeks burn from their caress
falling on dark earth

raw silken beauty
hidden promise of honey
petals soft as flame

loud adorations
wild declarations of love
falling on dark earth

intoxicated
I drown in seductive scent
petals soft as flame

treachery of thorns
my love rewarded with blood
falling on dark earth

petals soft as flame
my cheeks burn from their caress
falling on dark earth
so long the sun has ruled them
they fade so others may live

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to petals soft as flame

  1. Noora says:

    Such a fantastic piece, Frank! Hope all is great in your world. I’m sorry I haven’t been stopping by as often – been too busy… hopefully things will slow down soon. 🙂

    • Frank says:

      It’s always good to hear from you – I hope you are well.
      I’m delighted with the way this poem turned out. It combines my love of haiku with my obsession with the villanelle. I’ll have to try it again.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

