Putting the ‘I’ in ‘Idiot’

I feel like rather an idiot, and not a little guilty too.

I wrote the following cute little haiku recently:

ace bisexual
loving one and loving all
just kisses and hugs

It has taken me nearly two whole days to notice that one of the words on the page does not match the meaning in my mind. In fact, the error is quite horrifying, reducing the poem to utter absurdity. And it’s not that the words are unfamiliar or that their meanings are difficult to grasp, it’s simply that my focus on syllables and – I’m ashamed – my belief in my own cleverness had blinded me to the simple fact that that word was absolutely wrong.

If humility is good for the soul, then I am glad to be reminded of my human fallibility, and I beg forgiveness for accidental aromantic erasure. Here, then, is the corrected haiku:

biromantic ace
loving one and loving all
just kisses and hugs

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Poem, Sexuality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

