On the publishing of poetry and prestige of prizes

Back in April I reviewed From Pink Bows to Red Stilettos by Xia Devore. April was an interesting month for me. In addition to Xia Devore’s startling and erotic poetry, I reviewed Neona Lee’s Gentle Cruelty and R.H. Hope’s Love, Evolved; I also started writing poetry again and publishing it on this blog.

I’ve really enjoyed exploring the poetic side of my nature. I wouldn’t regard myself as a poet, however. I’m more of an author. My poetry is more about exploration of words, ideas, rhymes and rhythms. It’s very rarely about me (if it were, you would be forced to conclude that I am suffering severely from multiple personality syndrome and gender dysphoria).

But I owe a debt of gratitude to Xia Devore, and also to Leni King (for Lesbian Juices) for showing me that poetry can be fun and erotic, as well as intimate and expressive.

Xia Devore is currently doing a goodreads giveaway (until 15th December), so I have invited her to do a guest post here to talk about her experiences this past year. Take it away, Xia…

*

2013 has been poetic to say the least. Christmas 2012, I locked myself in my home office for two weeks and made sense of my poetry collection. This imprisonment spawned the birth of my new erotic poetry book, From Pink Bows to Red Stilettos on March 21, 2013. Two years of ink dripped paper and voice recordings produced my “first baby.” This production was overwhelming and disheartening at times and continues to be; nonetheless, the time and effort have proven to be valuable. Education in the self-publishing and book promotion process has been an arduous and daunting task; to sum it up in one word—RESEARCH! Just when you thought all of your questions were answered, there’s always another little detail you may have missed in the self-publishing arena.

Questions you should ask yourself:

  • What is my financial budget?
  • Which self-publishing company is best for me?
  • Do the royalties fit my expectations?
  • How will I market and promote the book?

Finances are key when self-publishing a book! There are numerous self-publishing companies awaiting your work, just search the internet and view the various companies. Selecting one to your desire is essential! Keep in mind you may not pick the right company the first time, a definite learning experience for me. You should make sure you’re getting the best bang for your buck. This is your masterpiece and you should certainly reap the most benefits of what you’ve sown. Self-publishing is solely on you, affordable decisions are crucial.

Social media is a self-publisher’s best friend! Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Google just to name a few, can be advantageous in self-promoting and linking with other writers and readers. Goodreads.com is also a valuable tool for any author. This site allows you to promote, blog, and enter your book in contest to be given away to readers in different countries around the world. The giveaways tend to draw international attention granting your book a worldwide audience.

Enrolling in book festivals can be gratifying and not to mention a pricey necessity. Whether placing first, runner up, or honorable mention, it’s well worth your dollar. The 2013 Paris Book Festival was my first enrollment, earning me Honorable Mention in the Poetry Division. I’m at a loss for words about the exuberance felt when I saw my book listed on the winner’s page, tears of joy stained my face. Festivals are excellent for marketing! Festival attendees are able to see your book and winners are listed on the festival’s website. This aids in growing your audience, making your work more internet searchable and forming new friendships.

I would not trade this experience of publishing a book for anything in the world! It has been exhausting, adrenaline pumping, overwhelming and heartwarming. If you believe in your art, then your sweat and tears to bring it to life will undoubtedly be a precise decision. 2013 is merely a smidgen of what’s to come from Xia Devore. My mission is to continuous penning my lyrics and sharing them with the world!

About Xia

Xia Devore is an American author and poet, hailing from Louisiana. A true Southern Girl, whose poetry reflects the Cajun spices she endures by spawning romance and erotica in her lyrics. Her poetic verses may be considered raw, provocative, and even taboo. Xia is a bona fide believer in love, passion, and sexual freedom.

About the Book

From Pink Bows to Red Stilettos is a rich portrayal of the seductive tongue of a little girl who once danced around with pink bows in her hair and now slips on her red stilettos, tantalizing the desires of the men she meets. Through written word that leaves one craving for something more, From Pink Bows to Red Stilettos unleashes raw, sexual, provocative, taboo style poetry to appease your sexual senses and fundamental sexual literary cravings. From Pink Bows to Red Stilettos proves that a woman’s sexual provocative nature is nothing to take lightly and that a sweet little girl can grow up to have a burning tigress nature. This book has been awarded Honorable Mention in the Poetry Division of the Paris, San Francisco, and New York Book Festivals. It’s sold around the world and proving to be a perfect addition to bedsides everywhere!

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

