Love Untrue

Bright, seductive, unwashed sheets
Redolent with love and tears
Memories cherished, soured with pain,
Loneliness that cruelly sears

Abandoned here, my lover gone
To bliss between another’s thighs,
Deaf to my poetic words
Oblivious to my cries

Existing here, all meaning lost,
Clockwork motion through the day,
I ache to leave, it’s hard to go,
It’s harder still to stay

Outside, the streets are lined with leaves
Rotting everywhere
The canopy we danced beneath
Now branches black and bare

Through bitter, mocking, whistling wind
From home’s accursed prison free
I cast away my weariness
I will embrace the sea

Ferocious waves of iron grey
With wild, destructive need
To that eternal, deep embrace
My trudging footsteps lead

So cold the coiling, breaking surf!
So strong its siren call!
A last farewell to love untrue
And in its arms I fall

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Untrue

  1. Noora says:

    Frank, this poem truly touched me. I love the rich language and it flows so perfectly. One of my favorites from you. Great work.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

