In the Garden

When ancient stars were newly born
A glorious vale embraced the dawn
Its forests dark with shady night
Now pierced by javelins of light

Both beautiful and barbarous
Both reverent and riotous
So full of clamour, free of strife,
Alive with iridescent life

Beneath a pomegranate tree
Two women met in secrecy
One was dark and one was fair
Divinely sculpted bodies bare

The fair one looked across the vale
And slowly sang a hopeful tale
A melody so sweet to hear
Of voyages both far and near

Of exploration deep and high
Of building towers to the sky
Of delving deep within the ground
Of sailing seas the world around

The dark one sang a sultry song:
‘To leave without a kiss is wrong
Nay, stay awhile, my dearest heart,
And revel in the lover’s art.’

She shook her jasmine-scented hair
Her dark lips touched against the fair
Her fingers roamed both far and near
Eliciting a shameful tear

‘I should not do this – I must go!’
‘Nay, stay awhile, for none will know –
To leave me now would be unkind
So let us sacred pleasure find.’

The fair one yielded to her fate
And fed the need she couldn’t sate
And as the dark one’s hunger burned
Her lover’s curves were slowly learned

Entwined in lust they drank their fill
Until they felt the evening’s chill
And fearing future lonely years
They kissed each other’s moonlit tears

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In the Garden

  1. Beautiful, love this one…

  2. Wow! I was enthralled. Very nice.

  3. Great poem. I really enjoyed the lilting flow. Good work.

    • Frank says:

      I like iambic tetrameter (I just looked that up). I play around with other rhythms as well, but that feels the most natural – and it’s surprisingly versatile. I’d like to try my hand at some Shakespearean iambic pentameter…

      Thanks 🙂

  4. Noora says:

    Stunning! Wonderfully composed. Loved it.

    • Frank says:

      I hoped you’d like it… 🙂

      My best writing is always born out of anger and frustration – in this case because someone (Brain on Data) had been blogging about St Augustine and asking whether Eve created ‘evil’. I am of the opinion that St Augustine’s born-again attitude towards sexuality was responsible for the desecration of the Christian church. The Doctrine of Original Sin, when used to vilify Eve, infuriates me. So that blog post really pushed my buttons.

      So I had an idea instead to write a poem: Eve the enlightened explorer and Lilith the passionate seducer, a union of lovers that would be decried as evil by a cruel patriarchy…

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

