Screaming Spires

ScreamingSpiresGeorgiana Derwent’s Screaming Spires, published April 2013, is the second book in The Cavaliers, a trilogy about an elite society of vampires based at Oxford University. The story of Harriet, the main character, is loosely based on the author’s time at Oxford University, where she read History, which provides a solid basis for the setting of the story and its historical background.

Two months ago I reviewed Oxford Blood, the first in the Cavaliers trilogy, and despite a number of complaints about it I enjoyed it enough to request an ARC of the next book, Screaming Spires.

I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this second book, and it feels like a more mature work. Many of the things I found frustrating in the first book are handled better in the second, and parts of the book are worthy of a five-star rating.

Which is not to say there aren’t issues, the main one being the need to fit events around the annual cycle, which puts awkward constraints on the time-line of the plot. Some characters seem underdeveloped while others seem overdeveloped.

That said, if you enjoyed Oxford Blood then there’s no reason why you wouldn’t enjoy Screaming Spires – and I’m certainly looking forward to the concluding part of the Cavaliers trilogy…


Links,, goodreads, Georgiana Derwent’s blog

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Vampires and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s