My friend Alyth

My friend Alyth has recently developed quite an obsession with the paranormal, and to hear her talk you would think that all the magical creatures that we read about in books or watch on TV are real. Knowing about my own obsession with vampires, she probably thinks I am more likely than most to believe in her absurd fantasies.

However, I don’t need to believe her to find her stories entertaining, and she doesn’t really need me to believe her. If I did, I’d probably get her locked up somewhere for her own safety. I mean, werewolves in films are one thing, but would you seriously want to date one?

‘Cray is hot,’ she tells me. ‘When he looks at me sometimes it’s like he doesn’t just want to kiss me, it’s like he wants to tear me apart and eat me, and I know I should be scared but I get so wet thinking about it. He drives me crazy in bed.’

Nice. My best friend fantasises about being eaten, and not just there

She’s convinced Cray’s a werewolf. She has even been mapping his mood against the lunar cycle. It worries me that she romanticises him this way. To me he just sounds like a psycho with a streak of jealousy. (Last week he got into a fight with Alyth’s ex.)

I’ll never understand the attraction women have to bad boys. As far as I’m concerned, Cray is a bully, albeit a devilishly handsome one, and his frequent disappearances aren’t mysterious, just a symptom of how he doesn’t take his relationship with Alyth any more seriously than he takes his university studies.

‘What can I say?’ Alyth says with a shrug. ‘I’m an adrenalin junkie, and Cray just does it for me.’

About Frank

A Sci-Fi & Fantasy author and lyrical poet with a mild obsession for vampires, succubi, goddesses and Supergirl.
This entry was posted in Alyth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply. Please! Pretty please! Cherry on top...

